Star Wars IV: A New Hope

The one that started it all. I saw this movie in the theater when I was 13 and it mesmerized me. I re-watched this movie for the review and although I have seen it countless times over the years I wanted to watch it as if I were seeing it again for the first time. If you watch all the movies in chronological order you may forget that this movie is like walking into a story that is in the middle of being told. That is what made it so very interesting and drew me into the story back in 1977. Who were these characters and what was going on? Lucas really did know how to pull you into the story and deliver such state of the art special effects.

The movie has everything that makes for great science-fiction and fantasy. A young teenager caught in the boredom of life who sets off on a quest to battle the evil Empire. A wise mentor, who like a wizard in ancient tales, trains hims in ways. The dashing rogue anti-hero who is only in it for himself. The strong female who is in need of rescuing but is no damsel in distress. Then you have the evil dark lord, Darth Vader, who are plucky band of underdog heroes must defeat. We also have some other entertain characters like the droids C3PO and R2D2. wookie

This film also has something that is not always present in the prequels, namely chemistry between the actors. Mark Hamill, Carrie Fisher and Harrison Ford gel together tremendously well. Even though in the movie they have only recently come together they seems as if they are old friends meant to be together. As I have mentioned before, these films are an homage to the serial cliff hangers of the 40s and 50s. Scene after scene shows are heroes in one precarious situation after another. However, these scenes of action and adventure are not a substitute for great story telling and character development.

Although it would take all three movies for each of these three main characters to change and grow, the story in Star Wars IV: A New Hope is captivating and riveting. From the start of the movie we really don’t know too much of what is going on. There is an Evil Empire, with Darth Vader being one of the powerful old Jedi Knight who has the power of the force, there is a giant space station called the Death Star and the droid R2D2 is carrying the schematic plans to the Death Star. When Vader stops the ship carrying Princess Lia the droids are sent to the nearby planet, Tatooine, where they are eventually sold to the Lars family and their adopted son, Luke Skywalker. The droid is looking for Obi-Wan Kenobi and Luke thinks it means the old hermit living in the hills, Old Ben Kenobi, played by the great actor Sir Alec Guinness . Luke and Obi-Wan hire smuggler Han Solo and his Wookie, Chewbacca, to take the plans back to the rebel base on his faster-than-light ship the Millennium Falcon and rescue Princess Lia and then proceed to blow up the Death Star.

The movie is a classic not only of the science-fiction/fantasy genre, but of all genres. I think it is the best of the entire series. Now that doesn’t mean the other movies in the franchise are not good, they are, and the next movie, The Empire Strikes Back, which I will review next week, is often cited as the best movie. However, you never forget your first love.

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on May 27, 2013, in Old Movie Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

