In the Hopper

I have not done a post like this in a long while. I want to look at some movies that are in development. I do not know a lot about some of these but I thought I would list them anyway.

This is from AICN:

Bloody-Disgusting has some information on the upcoming POLTERGEIST remake/reboot/sequel. It is going to begin filming this September with MONSTER HOUSE director, Gil Kenan, at the helm and Sam Raimi producing. They have some more info on plot at the link above but beware of spoilers. Moviehole then followed that report up with some more information. The new POLTERGEIST won’t be a remake but a reboot/sequel that takes place in the same universe (think this year’s EVIL DEAD) and doesn’t ignore the events of the original. They also has more specific story beats and call backs the new film will have at the link above.

The rest is from me. 🙂

2. Dungeons & Dragons: Based on the role playing game. I never played the game but I like movies with dragons and other “sword and sandle” type of movies. I hope this one gets made!

3. The Fantastic Four: This looks to be getting a re-boot. The first to movies, while not terrible, certainly is not up to the quality of the other Marvel based movies. If they can do this like Iron Man then they will have a big hit.

4. Gotti: In the Shadow of My Father: Not a science-fiction or fantasy movie but I just love mafia movies. The cable movie starring Armand Assante as Gotti, made in 1996, is very well done. Hopefully this will be just as good.
5. Gaurdians of the Galaxy: Another Marvel based franchise. I don’t know too much about these team of interstellar heroes but I like the premise. I am going to have to grab the comic to see what they’re all about. Earlier this week Hitfix, reported that John C. Reilly has been offered a role as Rhomann Dey and veteran actress Glenn Close has signed on to play the leader in Nova Corps.
6. Justice League: This is one I am really looking forward to. Rumor has it that this is waiting to see how Man of Steel does before moving forward, like there is a dobt Man of Steel will do well? Any way, I am sure Henry Cavill will don the cape once again. It will be interesting to see what other heors are in the movie and who plays them.
7. Batman: WB wants to reboot that after the JL movie. There is so much speculation on how they will re-boot Batman. As the days movie on I do not see Christian Bale being Batman once again. I mean the earliest we will see a Batman movie will be 2017. I would like to see aBatman movie with a slightly more comic book tone than the Nolan films.
About liamfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on May 31, 2013, in In Development and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

