Star Wars III: Revenge of the Sith

I realized while reviewing the Star Wars movies I skipped Star Wars III: Revenge of the Sith. So I will remedy that problem and review it now. Although often I hear the fan base malign the three prequel movies, I hear an equal amount of times that Star Wars III: Revenge of the Sith is better than the last movie in the series, Return of the Jedi. Although, as I reported, I do enjoy the first two movies, this is one of the over all better movies. I think the reason is this movie has the pay-off. It delivers what people came to see: Anakin Skywalker complete his transformation into Darth Vader. Ever since we found out that Darth Vader was Luke’s father, we have wondered how did Anakin Skywalker turn to the Dark Side? While the other two movies set up who Anakin is and how he became a great and powerful Jedi Knight, this movie finally shows how Dath Vader went sour and how the Empire replaced the old republic.

This movie really opens up to  afantasitc space battle with Anakin and  Obi-Wan Kenobi infiltrating the flagship of Separatist commander General Grievous to rescue the abducted Supreme Chancellor Palpatine. They run into Count Dooku. A battle of Lightsabers begins and after Obi-Wan is knocked out and Dooku defeated Supreme Chancellor Palpatine orders Anakin to kill Count Dooku, which he does. This foreshadows the things to come. Soon Palapatine reveals he is the Dark Lord of the Sith and despite letting the Jedi council know who Palpatine is he is still able to win over Anakin as Palpatine manipulate him into thinking he can help stop anything bad from happening to Padme. Once joining forces with Palpatine Anakin is re-christened Darth Vader. Palpatine orders the clone troops to kill the Jedi Council and declares himself Emperor of the Galactic Empire.

Unable to convince Padme that Anakin has turned to the dark side Obi-Wan stows away on her ship when she travels to Mustafar. When Padmé discovers what Vader has done, she tries to convince him to return to the light side of the force, but Vader accuses her of betraying him and uses the Force to choke her into unconsciousness. Vader and Obi-Wan then engage in a fierce battle that ends with Obi-Wan severing Vader’s legs and left arm. Vader falls down to the volcanic river’s edge and is immolated. Taking his former apprentice’s lightsaber, Obi-Wan goes to help Padmé. Meanwhile, Yoda confronts Palpatine, but is forced to retreat when their dual reaches a stalemate. Palpatine rescues Vader and as he is undergoing surgery to save his life and place him in a bio-suit of armour to help him breath and live, Padme delivers twins Luke and Leia  and then dies. Luke is returned to Anakin’s homeworld and given to his step-family to raise him. Leia is taken in by the Organa family. Yoda teaches Obi-Wan how to commune with the spirit of Qui-Gon Jinn before going into exile on Dagobah. Obi-Wan takes the infant Luke to Tatooine, where he intends to watch over him until the time is right to challenge the Empire. The movie ends with Darth Vader with the Emperor on the bridge of a ship with the a the Death Star being built-in the distance.

Pros: In this movie I think we see the acting of Hayden Christensen improved greatly. You can really see how turning to the dark side of the Force affects him. He really seems evil and lost rather than crabby and whinny as in the previous movies. The special effects are top-notch and the story is very good with some exceptions. The true bad guy in this movie is Palpatine and Ian McDiarmid really shines in the role. In some ways this is really his movie!! We see Anakin is more of  avictim of Palpatine than anything else. Now that does open up a discussion of how responsible was Anakin for his actions? This movie does set up the next trilogy very well. It really also changes the focus of the next trilogy. Instead about it being a trilogy where Luke Skywalker becomes a Jedi Knight to fulfill his destiny, it becomes more of a story about the redemption of Anankin Skywalker.

Cons: I do not have many cons about this movie. I think the duel between Vader and Obi-Wan goes on too long. I usually am not nit-picky about reality infringing on fantasy but the entire duel taking place over the hot lava, while cool, (pun intended) is a bit unrealistic. I have sat near hot fires before and fighting like they do over the lava just seems too implausible. My other complaint is in the closing scene where we see Darth Vader and the Emperor with the Death Star under construction. Episode IV makes it seem like the Death Star is new…yet the events of that movie take place 16/17 years later. Are we to believe it took 17 years to build? I don’t have a problem with that, I just think they show too much of it under construction. Yeah, it is a nit-picky fanboy quibble.

All in all a very good addition to the franchise and it is one that really advances the saga well. To me it proves that not all of the prequel movies are bad (I enjoy all of them).

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on June 18, 2013, in Old Movie Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. There is certainly a lot to find out about this subject. I love all the points you have made.

Leave a Reply

