Man of Steel Pre-Review.

As most of you know I am not a big movie goer. I prefer to watch movies at home in the comfort of my living room. With good flat screen TVs I would rather see them at home and be comfortable. With that in mind I still want to talk about the new Man of Steel movie. As I type this Man of Steel has a 57% positive rating at the Rotten Tomatoes website. Reading both the positive and negative reviews has not dampened my expectations for this movie. Here is my initial report on my expectations for the movie. There have been three aspects of the movie I have read about via the reviews and from people who have seen it on the internet. I felt I wanted to share my thoughts and feelings about these points and then, after the DVD comes out, I will reflect back on this entry to see if these are legitimate concerns. So this will contain spoliers so if you have not seen the movie enter at your own risk!

https://foleyfunfilmfacts.wordpress.com/2013/05/03/man-of-steel-my-expectations/

SPOILERS!

SPOILERS!

SPOILERS!

SPOILERS!

1. Jonathan Kent dies saving his dog from a tornado. In the comics and the Donner movies Pa Kent dies of a heart attack. In this movie he dies when a tornado stikes Kansas and Clark and everyone is caught under a bridge. Jonathan goes back to rescue the family dog and doesn’t want Clark to rescue him. Many have felt this was a plot hole and that Clark could have saved him without exposing himself to the world. Having not seen this I am waiting to judge it. The counter argument seems to be that Jonathan was so fearful that if Clark’s powers were revealed and it was learned he was an alien then the Government would take him away. Jonathan would do anything to avoid his son being exposed. As for going back to rescue the family dog? Well, I love dogs and my dog is my best buddy and I would try to save him.

2. Mass destruction of property. In the last 45 minutes of the movie there is mass destruiction as Superman and Zod do battle. Some have complained that Superman would allow such mast destruction, and therfore death of innocent citizens, and would have tried to lure Zod away from populated areas…like in Superman II. I think the premise is that this movie is taking a more realistic approach and it is possible Superman couldn’t have done anything to reduce the amount of destruction.

3. The killing of Zod. Superman snaps Zod’s neck. This seems, at first out of Character for Superman. Yes Superman is not shown directly killing anyone before, but it has been shown that some have died by Superman’s actions. In Superman II it is never shown what happens to Zod and his crew…they just disappear into the mist of the Fortress of Solitude. It is quite possible that they were killed when they fell. In the first season of The Adventures of Superman it was implied the some people died. This may be the one issue I may have some quibbles with. I will have to see it in the context of the film. I am not against philosophically as long as they show it being Superman’s only option and a last resort.

As of the day I publish this…the box office draw is…$152,777,618 domestically and $73, 300, 000 in the foreign market for a grand total of…. $226,077,618 worldwide. Those are good numbers, lets hope it keeps going!

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on June 20, 2013, in Captain's Log... and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

