Star Trek Continues…

http://www.startrekcontinues.com/

There is a lot of fan productions from various science fiction franchises. Some of it is very good, some not so very good. Star Trek Phase II has been around a while and has done very well at carrying the mantel of the original series. Now there is a newcomer to the block also wanting to continue the adventures of the gallant crew of the USS Enterprise. This fan production is called Star Trek Continues and the premise is that it picks up right where the last episode of the original series, Turnabout Intruder, left us. The initial episode, Pilgrim of Eternity, is a sequel to the 1967 episode Who Mourns for Adonais? which starred Michael Forrest as the Greek God, Apollo. Michael Forrest reprises his role as Apollo christening this series and launching it with fanfare.

I know many Star Trek fans are very temperamental about casting new actors to play these iconic characters. Some fans really balked when Paramount re-cast the crew for the 2008 JJ. Abrams directed reboot of the franchise. However, I think Star Trek Continues has successfully navigated this difficult issue. They have cast some wonderful actors in these roles. For me the standouts have been  Vic Mignogna as Captain James T. Kirk, Kim Stinger as Lt. Uhura and Chris Doohan playing Mr. Scott the role his father made famous. All the rest of the cast do a fine job. Todd Haberkorn plays Mr. Spock, Larry Nemecek plays Dr. Leonard “Bones” McCoy, Grant Imahara plays Mr. Sulu, and rounding out the cast is Wyatt Lenhart as Ensign Chekov.

Now it would be very easy for these actors to mimic and try to play these roles as the originals stars played them. While there are similar mannerisms that these actors bring to these iconic roles, it could easily devolve into parody but it does not. Each and everyone of them brings something new to the characters. For instance, Kim Stinger, as Lt. Uhura, brings a bright fresh joie de vivre to the character. You can see it in her eyes and expressions that she is really enjoying playing the role and has made it her own. Vic Mignogna does bring the Kirk swagger to the role but also a sense of authority that the character needs. He does this all without trying to be William Shattner. I could also say the same things about Todd Haberkorn as Mr. Spock and Larry Nemecek as Dr. McCoy. Nemecek’s McCoy is passionate without being like a grumpy old man. Haberkorn plays the stoic Mr. Spock with intelligence but without any coldness that could easily turn off viewers. They both walk that fine line very well. Also, Grant Imahara as Sulu and Wyatt Lenhart as Ensign Chekov are not just fillers in this series, they are given some important plot points in the first episode and their characters are fleshed out and each actor brings a sense of importance to their characters that was not always present in the original series.

I want to say something special about Chris Doohan playing Mr. Scott. I think he has the most difficult role of all. He could very easily try to copy what his father did in that legendary role, but he does not. The accent is sound and he even looks like a young James Doohan in the role. He also makes it his own. His own mannerisms and facial expressions are apparent and he is also one of the stand outs of the production. I hope they are grateful to have him, for I now I appreciate what he has done with the role.

I won’t give away too much about the first episode. Follow the link at the top of the page for I think it is something each person needs to see for themselves. I will say that the production values are equal, and sometimes better, than the original series. The sets look identical to the original series as well as the costumes. The music is there as is a great CGI rendering of the USS Enterprise. There is a scene on the outside of the ship that could not have been done in the 1960s and in this episode it looked spectacular. The story was well written and acted and it very easily could have been the first episode of a season 4 if the original series had not been canceled.

I hope they continue to produce these episodes, they are off to a stellar beginning and I look forward to the next episode.

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on July 15, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’m a fan of yu forever.

Leave a Reply

