Bale will not play Batman Again: My thoughts

Last week it was announced that Christian Bales said that he would not play Batman in a Justice League movie. Many fans, myself included, are a bit disappointed. I really thought that Bale’s Batman would fit in the same universe as Superman, given the fact that the tone of both the Dark Knight Trilogy and the new Man of Steel movie work very well together. Many on the internet feel that if WB threw enough money at Bale he would don the Bat Cowl once more. I tend to agree with that.

I recently re-wathed the entire trilogy and while I always have liked it, and think Batman Begins is the best of the bunch, I have a better appreciation for the Nolan’s trilogy.

Although I am disappointed that Christian Bale will not be Batman for the Justice league movie that means the Batman movies will need to be rebooted. But is it too soon and who would play the caped crusader?

Last year’s Spider-Man reboot, just a few years after Spider-Man 3, was aid to be too soon also. However, I really enjoy that movie and over all the responses for that film have been positive and many fans are looking for the next installment.  If they do the Justice League movie first, with Batman, and then reboot the Batman franchise after that movie…we still can be looking at another 5 years before we see a Batman movie. I think fans will come to the theater and I do not think that would be too soon.

I want to recommend an actor to play Batman. His name is Matt Bomer (you’ll have to google him, I am having trouble with posting pictures on this site). He plays the lead in As the lead in USA Networks’ White Collar and was also in the movie Magic Mike (2012) a movie I DID NOT SEE! DC and Warner Bros. have also noticed Bomer’s range, signing him to voice Superman in their next animated feature, Superman: Unbound (2013). He resembles Henry Cavill, Superman, and the two could be brothers.

I do not think that would be a deterrent because they both have those chiseled features and square jaws one expects in these two superheroes. Since Bomer is not a house hold name it will not seem strange seeing him as Batman. Ever since George Clooney played Batman (in a movie I do happen to enjoy in a strange way) I do think these superhero movies do need to cast unknowns for the most part. Of course there are always exceptions. I recently saw another list of possible actors to play Batman and one of them was a black man and I thought that would be a great idea.

It will be interesting to see what unfolds in the future for Batman!!

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on July 17, 2013, in Movie News of the day. and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

