Godzilla 2: Destroy All Monsters remake?

While principal photography for Godzilla ended just a couple of days prior to Comic-con on July 20th director Garret Edwards is already speculating what he would like to do with a remake.

Discussing a potential sequel to his upcoming “Godzilla” reboot, director Gareth Edwards stated, “With the exception of the 1954 original, I would say my second favorite film is Destroy All Monsters. I just love the idea of a monster island. Having a world with these creatures in it. I find that fascinating and would like to treat that realistically. I wouldn’t want to limit it to one other foe, I think it’s more fun to – this question will come back to haunt me if we ever do a sequel – but I think multiple creatures make better movies in terms of the image of Gojira.”

“Destroy All Monsters” was a 1968 Japanese kaiju film featured an all-star cast of monsters from many of Toho’s previous monster films including Godzilla, King Ghidorah, Minilla, Mothra, Rodan, Gorosaurus, Anguirus, Kumonga, Manda, Baragon, and Varan.

Read more at http://www.comicbookmovie.com/fansites/movienewsandreviews/news/?a=84202#J4ozV10MEkd5IYq2.99

Personally, I wouldn’t mind a sequel that had numerous monsters…I think this is trying to be Marvel’s Avengers for the monster movie genre. However, I do have some concerns. First of all, Edwards is giving his reboot of the Godzilla franchise a very serious tone, trying to recapture the verisimilitude of the 1954 original. The problem with a remake of Destroy All Monsters is that by 1968 the tone of the Godzilla films had changed considerably. Godzilla was evolving into a hero of types where he helped save the world and was no longer this nuclear created force of nature. destroy All Monsters also included a plot where alien invaders were going to take over the world. While I like those elements they do seem to clash with the serious tone of this reboot. This sounds more like it would fit into the tone which Pacific Rim has established.

Another point is that Toho already did a remake, of sorts, to Destroy All Monsters. That movie was the 2004 50th anniversary movie: Godzilla Final Wars. That is a film that is despised among the majority of the fan base (this writer being the exception) and I really have to wonder would Toho want to risk another remake of that plot so soon? Who knows, Maybe Edwards would leave out the alien aspect of the movie?

While I am open to a Destroy All Monsters remake, my preference would be to see another movie where Godzilla is the main monster where he battles another foe. With Legendary Pictures ending its partnership with Warner Brothers Studios and starting a new Partnership with Universal Studios, who owns the rights to King Kong, I would much rather see a remake of King Kong vs Godzilla!

Ah, but we are getting ahead of ourselves aren’t we? Godzilla will be in theaters on May 16, 2014 and hopefully it will do well enough to garner a sequel. Let us hope that it does better than Pacific Rim! A wonderful giant monster movie that is being praised by many critics but is doing poorly at the box office. With a production budget of $190 million it has taken in only $76,486,104 domestically so far. I am hopeful Godzilla will do better for he is such a more well-known character and I am sure he will pull in the larger audience.

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on July 31, 2013, in Captain's Log..., In Development. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. That tone thing is what I don’t get about the remake. ’54 was a classic movie, but it is not what we (and presumably others) remember loving about the Godzilla films and dour atomic allegory is therefore unlikely to push our nostalgia buttons. On the plus side, the idea that Edwards is floating out a Destroy All Monsters remake makes me guardedly optimistic that maybe ’14 won’t be set quite to Nolan levels of fun and lightheartedness. Which is odd since DAM rests toward the bottom of my Toho kaiju hierarchy–but it did more or less get the post-Godzilla Raids Again tone right.

    The real odd thing is that if they wanted to do an Avengers approach they have the blueprint: it’s almost uncanny how easy it is to analogize Godzilla to the first Iron Man at the beginning of the process and Ghidorah the Three-Headed Monster at the end. An accidentally enormous international success spawns a cinematic shared universe culminating in a massive team-up crossover at the end–is there any reason not to call it Toho Phase I?

    I guess what I’m saying is, Destroy All Monsters? Screw that. I want my $200mm Mothra movie.

  2. I agree with you about the “Nolan levels of fun and lightheartedness.” That is one of my concerns about the new movie. Yes, I am glad they are going after a gritty and realistic take on Godzilla, but I hope it does have some fun and lighthearted moments.

  3. Hope he follows through with the thought of a remake..I love the fact that their is somebody willing to take on the challenge of Making Godzilla films while trying to continue the mystique of having it like the old school(G)and not that imitation(98)Version!..

Leave a Reply

