Superman vs Batman Movie: More thoughts.

I was listening to a pod cast from director Kevin Smith on the new Batman and Superman movie and he had some good points that made me reevaluate this upcoming movie. At first I was a little disappointed that they were going to include Batman in the sequel to Man of Steel. I wanted to see Superman in at least one solo movie before they teamed him up with someone else. I mean, Man of Steel was an origin movie and Superman was just established in this movie so I want to see more of him just buy himself.

What Kevin Smith said changed my mind and I think he is right. Man of Steel II could have been a “by the books” sequel with Superman fighting Lex Luthor (who was not in the first movie) and maybe a second villain such as Brainiac. This is what fans were expecting. However, by including Batman in the next movie it gives us fans a sequel that will be different and new and something many will want to see.

Superman and Batman are the two most popular superheroes ever and they have not ever appeared in a movie together. This will be the first time! So instead of going with something safe and predictable WB went with something new and exciting by putting the two most favorite Superheroes together. I think a decision like this will cause more people to be curious to see this film.

The fact that they have cast a person as Batman that the majority of fans do not agree with will not keep fans away. Oh, there are some who are saying they will boycott this next movie and all they are doing is showing their prejudice. But the vast majority of fans will see this fil and want to see how Affleck will do. I think he will do fine. Kevin Smith thinks so too. He makes another good point.  Affleck had some flops in his carreer and at this juncture as an actor and a director he has climbed back to the top and this casting of Affleck was not a mistake.

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on September 23, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

