Star Trek Into Darkness: My Review

I have been a fan of Star Trek for nearly 40 years and the two movies that JJ Abrams has produced have been the only Star Trek movies that have sparked and triggered that sense of joy and amazed wonder I had as a young boy watching the original series for the first time. Don’t get me wrong I love all the previous movies in the franchise too, its just that these movies really capture the magic of that first love.

I greatly enjoyed the 2009 movie “Star Trek” so I had high expectations for this film. I think this movie surpassed my expectations. This movie has everything a Trekkie like myself could want. This movie is chocked full if Action and adventure, and an intriguing story/plot with wonderful and moving character development all write up in great eye caching special effects.

I will not rehash the plot here but I do want to mention the addition of Khan as the villain. I was not sure if this would work. Ricardo Montalban was very iconic playing the role of Khan in the original series episode “Space Seed” and the feature film “Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan that I really wondered if Benedict Cumberbatch could pull it off. With this being an alternate time line I really think it worked. Yes, this Khan is a bit different because the story that is being told is also different and within that context it workd. The same elements are there. He is a superhuman, intelligent and devious and dangerous!

Star Trek Into Darkness is a movie that has it all. It also combines great drama with humor. If you enjoyed the 2009 Star Trek movie you will enjoy this one also!

About liamfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on September 26, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I am new to Star Trek so these new movies are my first introduction to the franchise.

Leave a Reply

