2014 Summer Blockbuster’s.

I am a little late this year with these, but these are the movies I want to see this summer.

The Amazing Spider-Man 2 (5-2) Part of this movie was filmed in Rochester NY which is near my home town. I really liked the reboot and hope this one is just as good! Spiderman continues his life as a crime fighter and this results in making more enemies. Some of these enemies are connected to the death of his parents.

Captain America: The Winter Soldier (4-4) As Steve Rogers (AKA Captain America) adjusts to modern times he becomes and Agent of SHIELD along with Agent Natasha Romanoff they must fight off international terrorism. Roumor has it that this is one of the best movies in the Marvel cinematic universe.

Godzilla (5-16) I am a huge Godzilla fan! This movie looks awesome and can’t wait to see it!! Giant MUTO’s attack Hawaii and Vegas and Godzilla comes to save the day.

X-Men: Days of Future Past (5-23) Never cared for the X-men comics but I have loved the X-Men movies and really looking forward to this movie. There seems to be some fan confusion that this movie may erase others from the continuity.

A Million Ways to Die in the West (5-30) The second live action movie from Family Guy creator Seth McFarlane. I loved last year’s movie Ted and this one looks to be just as funny.

Maleficent (5-30) This is the story of Sleeping Beauty. I am keeping my fingers crossed on this one. I liked the trailers and this movie certainly has eye candy. I liked the trailers for Snow White and the Huntsman but did not end up liking that movie…so with this one I am being cautiously optimistic.

Edge of Tomorrow (6-6) I love Tom Cruise in science fiction movies. I really liked Oblivion and this one looks good. I guess it is a futuristic take on Groundhog day.

Transformers: Age of Extinction (6-27). I am not a big Transformers fan. They came out when I was an adult. I do think the premise is a bit silly, alien robots that can take the shape of human transportation, but I did like the first and third movies. The second movie I did not like at all. This one looks like a new and fresh approach.

How To Train Your Dragon 2 (6-13) I love dragons!!! I love movies with dragons mostly. Loved the first movie and this one looks even better.

Jersey Boys (6-20) This is not a science-fiction film or a fantasy film but I am making an exception with this one. I love musical bio movies. Directed by Clint Eastwood this depicts the rise to fame of the 60s group Frankie Valley and the Four Seasons.

Dawn of the Planet of the Apes (7-11). I liked the first one…after seeing the trailer for this I am cautiously optimistic. I hope it doesn’t turn into a basic dystopian post apocalyptic shoot em’ up movie.

Hercules (7-25). Dwayne John as Hercules. This is just as great and logical of casting as Arnold as Conan. This looks good and I have no doubt I will love. I really enjoyed Johnson in The Scorpion King and this movie looks to be just as enjoyable.

Guardians of the Galaxy (8-1) I am unfamiliar with this Marvel comic. However, it looks like a fun lighthearted science-fiction movie. In the far reaches of space, an American pilot named Peter Quill finds himself the object of a manhunt after stealing an orb coveted by the villainous Ronan. In order to evade Ronan, Quill is forced into an uneasy truce with a group of misfits including Gamora, Rocket, Drax the Destroyer, and Groot. But when Quill discovers the true power of the orb and the menace it poses to the cosmos, he must rally his ragtag rivals for a last, desperate stand – with the galaxy’s fate in the balance

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles (8-8) I never was a TMNT fan. They came along when I was in my 20s. But this look likes very good and I will give it a try.

Into the Storm (8-8) You may have to find the trailer on YouTube for this one. It has been jokingly called Twister II. Previously using the production title Black Sky, Into the Storm is an upcoming 2014 American disaster film directed by Steven Quale, written by John Swetnam, and starring Richard Armitage.

 

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on June 5, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. The two I’ve seen so far have been Maleficent and Amazing Spider-Man 2.

    Amazing Spider-Man 2:
    I found it to be an enjoyable film, better than the Raimi trilogy, but the film suffers some from trying to cram in too much, obviously because of Sony’s planned Sinister 6 film. The film would have been better if it had spaced things out over another movie or two.

    Maleficent:
    This movie was absolutely fantastic and a “must see” in my opinion. Although it follows the basic Disney storyline that we saw as children, it has a few slightly different twists as it takes a full 360 degree approach.

  2. Thanks for your response. I look forward to both of those movies and I kind of feared that the Spider-Man movies were trying to cram too much into one film. But I liked the first movie better than the Raimi trilogy too. Maleficent look like great eyecandy and most people who have seen it are saying that it is as good as it looks.

Leave a Reply

