Self-Destruct!!! & More Fun!!

I was watching Star Trek Original Series movies (I-VI) and wanted to nit-pick the destruction of the Enterprise in Star Trek III: The Search for Spock. I love that movie and I didn’t mind the destruction of the Enterprise, I just thought the destruction was rather wimpy. However, I do like the scene with Kirk, McCoy, Scotty, Sulu and Checkov are watching the fireball wreckage of the Enterprise streak against the sky. That was a spectacular scene. I just wanted a larger explosion. An equally spectacular scene could have been the crew viewing the sky with a giant cloud of debris from outer space painted across the horizon from the explosion of the Enterprise.

Take Star Trek the Motion Picture for example.  The  V’Ger cloud and ship was enormous. The movie says the cloud measured a diameter in excess of two astronomical units, or more than 299.195 million kilometers! When Kirk orders the Self-Destruct a crewman asks Scotti if that will also destroy V’Ger. He says that when that much mater and anti-matter collide it will take out V’Ger also. I am paraphrasing.

Switch to the Self-Destruct of the Enterprise in Star Trek III. When the explosion happens it barley destroys the saucer section of the ship! So instead of a cataclysmic explosion that would take out a ship and its surrounding cloud that was more than  299.195 million kilometers in size, what we  get is an explosion that barely singes the nose hairs of Klingon Commander Kruge in the nearby Bird-of-Prey!! 

Thanks for reading my little nerd rant.

Star Trek Continues is a fan based web series of very high quality. Their most recent episode is entitled “The Fairest of them All” which is a continuation of the Original Series episode Mirror Mirror. When Kirk, McCoy, Uhura and Scotty beam back to their rightful Mirror Universe this Captain Kirk will have a Spock that might not be as dedicated to the Terran Empire as he once was. This is a brilliant idea for an episode and it is very well written and acted. Try it out!

http://www.startrekcontinues.com/episodes/#.U57-bSiGjLR

Next week I will have my review of After Earth, starring the Father-Son team of Will and Jaden Smith. The week after that I will review and contrast the new RoboCop movie with the 1987 original.  Also, my review of the movie Pompeii will be coming soon.

About liamfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on June 16, 2014, in Captain's Log... and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

