Pompeii ~ My Review

Pompeii is another movie that didn’t do so well at the box office despite being a rather enjoyable movie for me. I enjoy movies that are set in the times of the Roman Empire and this is one of those movies that really makes you feel as if you hopped into your Dolrean and cranked it up to 88 miles an hour and reached Pompeii in the year 67AD. The movie has everything a fantasy movie needs. Good story about a slave trying to triumph over injustice, a tyrannical leader, a lovely princess and a wise older mentor. All of this happening during a cataclysmic natural disaster. The acting is pretty decent and sufficient for this type of project and the special effects are simply stellar. The eruption of Mount Vesuvius is worth the price of the DVD alone!

Here is a very basic synopsis. The lead, Milo, lives in Britain and is a survivor after his family (part of a Horse tribe) is killed by the Romans lead by Corvus (Kiefer Sutherland). Milo is captured by a slave trader and becomes a Gladiator. Eventually Milo is brought to Pompeii to be a Gladiator there. En-route he helps end the suffering of a wounded horse owned by Cassia (Emily Browning) who is traveling back to Pompeii with her servant Ariadne (Jessica Lucas). Corvus is now a senator in Pompeii and has his eyes on Cassia who is in love with Milo after he once again rescues her from a crazed horse who was spooked by an earthquake. Milo has also befriended a fellow gladiator, Atticus (Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje) and they  plan to stand up against Corvus at the next Gladiatorial exhibit in Pompeii’s Colosseum. During this epic battle Mt. Vesuvius blows her top creating chaos and a final confrontation between Milo and Corvus.

My thoughts. While this movie doesn’t present really anything new. It tells its story in a dramatic and entertaining fashion. All the actors do a fine job in their roles with Sutherland doing very well in a rare bad-guy role. As I said previously the special effects are just wonderful. Why is this movie entertaining for me? There is a good mix of drama with some humor and I was invested in the characters and wanted to see how their story unfolded. The story did draw me in and was exciting, with a lot of action and adventure.

Sure, there are many derivative elements to the story and just speaking for myself as long as it is told well I have no problem with that. At its heart Pompeii is a tragic historical romance, action and adventure story that takes place amidst one of the worlds most worst natural disasters.

 

 

About liamfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on June 30, 2014, in Movie Review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

