Olympus Has Fallen: My Review.

This was the first of two invasion of the White House movies. The second movie, White House Down,  came out November on DVD 2013. The movie stars Gerard Butler, Aaron Eckhart, Morgan Freeman and Angela Bassett. I will review White House Down at a later date.

Olympus Has Fallen was rated R and in terms of action and violence it lives up to that rating. As I have mentioned many times on this blog, I have geared myself toward more lighthearted movies. This was not one of them. While I did enjoy the movie over-all, it was almost too violent for my enjoyment.

Gerard Butler plays a secret service agent who wants to redeem himself. I will not give that away, in fact this will be a spoiler-free review. The President, played by Echart, is trying to improve relations with North Korea when the White House is attacked by those very same North Koreans. With the president and vice-president incapacitated Morgan Freeman (as Speaker of the House) becomes the acting President. Butler and Freeman, along with Angela Bassett as the Director of the United States Secret Service have to team together as the threats and destruction continue to increase.

Pros: The action is very intense and the story did hook me into caring for these people. That is essential in any movie.  All the actors did a fine job in their roles. What I liked about Morgan Freeman’s portrayal and acting is that his character did not start out as the larger-than-life authoritative figure we know that Morgan Freeman is capable of playing. He gets thrown into this situation and you can see he is unsure of himself and does not know what to do. As the movie progresses his strength and abilities come to the surface.

Cons: My cons are that it was too violent and even violent in a graphic way. Scene of the President being hurt and his staff being tortured and executed are painful to watch. Also, I like these types of movies to have some fun and humor to them. This movie is grim and joyless. Although it is filled with patriotism I would not call this a fun movie to watch. This movie is like “Die Hard in the White House” and it is also similar to Air Force One. So in many ways the movie did not have anything new to offer.

I am going to begin a star rating system based on 5 stars being the best. Therefore this movie rates ***1/2.

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on July 7, 2014, in Movie Review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

