Comic-Con 2014: Review.

Ah, Comic-Con, that one time of year when nerdlings such as my self, climb wearily out of our Mom’s basement, adjust our eyes to natural light and actually attempt to engage fellow human beings in social contact.* I was not there in Sand Diego, but I do want to post on some of the news that came out from this past weekend’s convention. I certainly will not be able to cover everything that went on, I will focus on those things that interest me and hopefully they will interest you.

Godzilla News:

Prior to the convention Legendary Pictures already green lit two sequels to this summers big hit. What was announced this weekend was that director Gareth Edwards will be back to helm Godzilla II. Currently Edwards is working on one of the stand-alone Star Wars movies that will be out 2016.

The big news that has my fellow Kaiju fans jumping up and down for joy is that classic Toho monsters, Rodan, Mothra and King Ghidorah will be in the sequels!!!! What is not known is whether or not all three of these monsters will be in Godzilla II or if they will be spread about over other sequels?

My Thoughts: As a Godzilla fan I am very happy with this news. I truly hope they redesign King Ghidorah with arms attached to his wings. Rodan is a favorite Kaiju and I am very happy to see him back. I am very curious to see how these monsters will be designed in CGI. What is unkown is when Godzilla II will hit the theaters. With Edwards busy with Star Wars we may have to wait until 2018 or 2019 to see the next installment.

King Kong news! Legendary pictures is in union with Universal Studios who owns the rights to King Kong. A teaser was shown this weekend of an up coming King Kong prequel titled Skull Island. The release date is November 4, 2016 and it is It is unknown at this time if it will be a prequel to the 1933 film, or the 2005 film.

My thoughts? I love King Kong and I am super excited to see this movie. I just hope the teaser trailer shown at the convention will be shown soon.

Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice. A teaser trailer was revealed at Comic-Con to the delight of many. Here is a description:

The trailer opens with Batman standing on a rooftop in the pouring rain. He’s dressed in an armor-type costume (different from the Zack Snyder released photo). The costume is very reminiscent of the armor costume that Batman wears in Frank Miller’s The Dark Knight Returns. Batman’s eyes are glowing bright whitish-blue (different from how his eyes looked in the Batman cowl photo).

There is something else on the roof. It’s revealed to be the Bat Signal. Batman pulls down a lever to light the Bat Signal, and its bright, shining beacon reveals Superman, hovering in the air. Superman is also in the middle of the pouring rain, and his eyes are glowing red.

The footage cuts back to Batman on the rooftop, staring intently at Superman. Batman’s eyes are still glowing a whitish-blue. The trailer ends with the Batman V. Superman: Dawn of Justice logo.

A high resolution shot of Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman was released. I love the look of her costume. A Facebook member noted she and her costume looked like Xena, Warrior Princess and I do agree with that. I happen to like that she reminds me of Xena, Warrior Princess while I think my Facebook friend did not.

My thoughts: Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice will be in theaters May 6, 2016 (United States) and this movie I am looking forward to more than any other!!

* I cannot remember where I got that opening line…I think I got it from an episode of Family Guy.

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on July 28, 2014, in Captain's Log... and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

