Godzilla’s Enemies Part II

6. Gigan: This is a monster I both love and hate. Gigan is a cyborg monster that has extraterrestrial origins. He has sharp hook like claws for hands and a buzzsaw protruding from his abdomen. I find the design very silly and ridiculous. In the 70s, when he debuted, his suit made him look flabby. By the time Gigan showed up in a Godzilla movie the movies had become very kid friendly due to the influences of Gamera and the Ultraman series. Gigan was not used again until the last movie, Final Wars. In this movie he had a bit of a dramatic make-over. He was much slimmer and swifter and more powerful. I liked this design so much better! So I didn’t like Gigan from the 70s but the one used in Final Wars is a pretty cool design. Movies he has appeared in” Godzilla vs Gigan, Godzilla vs Megalon, Godzilla: Final Wars.
7. Gorosaurus: Gorosaurus is a plucky little monster that made his first appearance in the Toho/Rankin Bass movie King Kong Escapes. Although no relation to the 1933 movie King Kong, Gorosaurus plays the same role as the T-Rex in the 1933 movie. He is a victim of Kong abuse and is defated the same way the T-Rex was defeated in the 1933 movie. The next time we see Gorosaurus is in the movie Destroy All Monsters and his notable scene is bursting up through the ground destroying the Arch de Triumph. Gorosaurus was seen again in stock footage only. I like this monster. He looks like a T-Rex and in that way is the only monster that resembles Godzilla himself. I would to see Toho use him once more. With the advent of CGI they could make a more life-like and fierce looking Gorosaurus!
8. Hedorah: Hedorah had creative origins. He was a product of our environment. The 70s was a time of awareness of the environmental issues that was causing problems all over the world. Hedorah (aka the Smog Montser) was the result of mankind trashing his environment. In the movie Godzilla vs Hedorah (Godzilla vs the Smog Monster) he develops via stages from a tad-pole like creature to a giant monster that likes to suck off the fumes from smoke stack belching factories. The idea is much better than the execution. Given the suit making at the time the final stage does look a little goofy in my opinion. Hedorah appears briefly in Final Wars. I do mean briefly! As soon as he appears on screen he is literally roasted by Godzilla.
9. Jet-Jaguar: Jet-Jaguar is not really a foe of Godzilla. He is actually a robotic pal from the movie Godzilla vs Megalon. In the movie Jet-Jaguar teams with Godzilla to defeat the combined forces of Megalon and Gigan. Jet-Jaguar is a robot that has a silly grin on his face that can magically grow to the size of 50 meters (the same size as the Showa era Godzilla). Again Jet-Jaguar was inspired by Ultraman and is very silly in my opinion.

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on October 20, 2014, in Godzilla Movie Review and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

