Godzilla’s Enemies: Part III

10. Kamacuras: Kamacuras is a giant praying mantis. First seen in Son of Godzilla. In the movie there are many giant praying mantis that grow to an even larger size during a weather experiment. Honestly, I am ambivalent about this monster. Giant bug monsters are a staple of science fiction movies. I think they server there purpose but I don’t really get attached to them in any significant way.
11. King Caesar: King Caesar is a mystical monster. He is actually a statue that is magically brought to life to fight Godzilla in the movie Godzilla vs Mechagodzilla. Standing 50 meters tall he has a leonine head, floppy ears and a lower half of the body that is all made up of scales. Oh, and it has a lion like tail with a fluffy poof-ball at the end of it. In my opinion this is one of the silliest monsters Toho ever sent down the pike. He was again seen in Godzilla Final Wars. This suit looked a little better but I must say it is my least favorite monster.
12. King Ghidorah: King  Kin Ghidorah is considered Godzilla’s number one enemy. His origins are said to be from outer space. He is a giant three headed golden dragon with giant wings. I do like this monster although he has a design flaw that bothers me. The monster has no arms! Many dragon like creatures have a wing/arm combination. In other words the arms are incorporated within the wings. On Ghidorah they are just wings and no arms making him look like he is missing something. Often Ghidorah towers over Godzilla and with him being depicted as pure evil it allowed Godzilla to transform from the villain into the anti-hero and then hero that defends the earth. On one occasion Ghidorah is smaller and and portrayed as the good guy against a very evil and malevolent Godzilla. Some fans did not like seeing Ghidorah used as a good guy but to me it made sense. With Godzilla being particularly evil who but Ghidorah has the history with Godzilla and could be depicted strong enough to stand up to him? Ghidorah was the obvious choice.
13. King Kong: This Kong is different than the one used in the Universal Studios movies. This one is 148 feet tall compared to the one that is either 25/50 in the other movies…depending on your source. So far these two famous behemoths had only one match that came to a draw. Seeing how well Pete Jackson brought a CGI Kong to life I would love to see a remake of this movie!

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on October 27, 2014, in Godzilla Movie Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

