Seventh Son: Review

Seventh Son is a 2014 American epic fantasy film directed by Sergei Bodrov and starring Ben Barnes, Jeff Bridges, Alicia Vikander, and Julianne Moore. It is based on the novel The Spook’s Apprentice (titled The Last Apprentice: Revenge of the Witch in the US) by Joseph Delaney. The story centers on Thomas Ward, a seventh son of a seventh son, and his adventures as the apprentice of the Spook. After having its release date shifted numerous times, the film was released in France on December 17, 2014 and in Canada and the United States on February 6, 2015.

This film was poorly handled. I will not go too deep into that but this was one of those films that was not marketed well and the original affects company went bankrupt and had to be bailed out in order for the special effects to be completed. The movie did not do well with critics and did not do well at the US box office. With a production Budget $95 million it only made $17 million at the box office domestically but it made 110 million world wide. The fact that this movie was released in February, where movies go to die, didn’t help.

Despite all of that negativity I really enjoyed it. The story of how Thomas Ward played by Ben Barnes is the new apprentice of the Spook played by Jeff Bridges and has to recapture Mother Malkin the queen of witches and her minions is a basic staple of fantasy films but I think this one is well executed. If you like monsters and witches, demons and dragons then I think you will like this movie too. This is the type of escapist fun movie that I really enjoy. It has a good story and is well acted with great special effects and there is a lot of subtle dry humor to show it doesn’t take itself too seriously.

One of the delights about this movie is the performances by stellar actors Jeff Bridges and Julianne Moore. They both chew up the scenery and they both look like they’re genuinely having fun in this movie and that translates to fine and engaging performances. Bridges play’s the Spook, named Gregory and is a wise cracking old mentor who is trying to train a replacement apprentice while at the same time trying to recapture Mother Milken who has escaped where Gregory last held her. Both Gregory and Malkin have a history and Thomas meets a young gal who also has a secret and a history that ties into the entire story. As we follow our two heroes on their quest we will see and battle some epic creatures along the way.

All-in-all a very enjoyable fantasy film that will be re-watched on nice cool rainy days, such as the one I am experiencing today.

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on June 1, 2015, in Movie Review and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

