Jurassic World: Preview

What happens to kids who love Dinosaurs? They grow up to be adults who love Dinosaurs!! 

I remember my friend George took me to see Jurassic Park when it was in the theater telling me I had to see this on the big screen.  Boy was he right! Jurassic Park was a breakthrough in special affects and dinosaurs never looked more real. They raised the bar on special affects, especially for creatures and monsters. While Jurassic World doesn’t seem to be as ground breaking as its predecessor but it does show how great these affects looks today. Although I do think the FX in the original movie have not aged at all.

I enjoyed all three Jurassic Park movies. The first and the third are my favorites and while I do like Jurassic Park: The Lost World, it is missing some fun and a little soul to it. So what are my expectations for the Jurassic World? First of all I have read a synopsis of the plot but I won’t spoil it for you here. So, the story sounds pretty good. I like Chris Platt from Guardians of the Galaxy and his role here (mini spoiler) is that he is a Raptor trainer and has an essential part in the plot. Also, and I say this without judgment, there is a bit of formula in these movies and basically its that once you mix humans and dinosaurs together mayhem will ensue. So I am expecting that in this movie. We also know that there is a new hybrid dinosaur that is the main threat and it has been rumored that the T-Rex from the original movie will make an appearance. I am also happy to learn that the movie will take place Isla Nublar which is where the first movie was set. It is the first sequel and second film to take place on Isla Nublar, as the previous two sequels took place on Isla Sorna.

My expectations are rather high given what I have seen and what I know of the film. Honestly, they would have to go a long way for me to be disappointed in this film! This movies I am looking forward to the most for this summer!! Directed by Colin Trevarrow the film was produced by Frank Marshall and Patrick Crowley, and is scheduled to be released on June 12, 2015 in North America, by Universal Pictures.

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on June 4, 2015, in Coming soon.... and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. My favorites of the previous films are the first and third as well.

  2. I went to see the film today. It was entertaining. If I had to rank the films, I would put the first as the best, the second as the worst, and this one and three in the middle.

  3. As it tends to be with sequels, I thought this movie, like the second, lacked the charm of first film.

Leave a Reply

