Jupiter Ascending

To begin this review I will start with a mini right up from Wikipedia:

Jupiter Ascending is a 2015 American-Australian space opera film written, produced, and directed by Lana and Andy Wachowski. Starring Mila Kunis and Channing Tatum, the film is centered on Jupiter Jones (Kunis), an ordinary cleaning woman, and Caine Wise (Tatum), an interplanetary warrior who informs Jones that her destiny extends beyond Earth.

This is going to be a mixed review. I think the little summary is pretty accurate. I will expand on it just a little. Yes, this will have some mini spoilers. Jupiter Jones has become Queen of the Earth and there are two factions, one to protector her and the other that wants to rob her of her new inheritance. That is it. That is the story. However, I have to say the movie is a bit of a mess. Although for me it is an enjoyable mess! The story is basically easy to follow, the main part of it is anyway, its just that there are subplots and plethora of characters I was not able to always figure out what they had to do with the story!

I do not apologize for the fact that I am easy to please as a viewer and I love CGI and special affects and this movie is great in creating a wonderful spectacle of eye candy. This movie does transport you to other worlds that are beautiful to look at and also helps you experience the story. I think that is what is positive about the film. Essentially the movie is a love story with Mila Kunis and Channing Tatum as the central focus and when we are with them we see Mila experience these new worlds and experience them along with her and when Channing Tatum is protecting her we experience these worlds from his perspective and that is when the movie is at its best.

Another positive aspect about the film is actor Eddie Redmayne who plays BaleLana m Abrasax, Emperor of the House of Abrasax. Balem is the eldest of the three Abrasax heirs. Balem controls the wealthiest business empire in the known universe from a gigantic refinery in the Great Red Spot of the planet Jupiter. If you want to know what his business is think Soylent Green, but not as a food product but as a fountain of youth type of beauty product. The emperor feels threatened by Jupiter Jones’ claim to the Earth and attempts to stop her. Actor Eddie Redmayne, who just won an Academy Award for his portrayal of Stephen Hawking in the movie the History of Everything, really steals the show as the deliciously evil emperor. He would give Tom Hiddleston as Loki a run for the money as an evil character. Although I do like this movie it could be better and in many ways and in my opinion Eddie Redmayne desrves to play an evil character in a better movie. His obvious talent is wasted here.

Jupiter Ascending is an enjoyable film full of great special affects and an interesting yet muddled story that is carried by the strength of its three important leads, Mila Kunis, Channing Tatum and Eddie Redmayne. I do recommend this movie albeit with some cautions.

About billfoley63

I was born in 1963 and that is relevant to my development of my love for science-fiction and fantasy movies, comic books, superheroes and many other things attributed to Nerd culture. In the 60s I watched all the Saturday afternoon Godzilla and monster movies I could take. In the 70s I became hooked on Star Trek. I am also an artist (in my own mind at least) and a musician. I enjoy learning about physics, astrophysics, chemistry and earth silences such as meteorology, anthropology, paleontology. When I reached my late 30s I began to re-explore my nerd roots. I reconnected with my love of science fiction and fantasy movies along with the other science related topics. For this blog I will focus on movie and TV reviews for science fiction and fantasy and post my thoughts on up coming movies. I will also include some fun facts from the various sciences I enjoy along with weather facts and bits from royalty and history. What I will not discuss is religion and politics. I am married to a beautiful woman named Sarah and have a lovely daughter named Danielle.

Posted on June 8, 2015, in Movie Review and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

